Testimonials - What others have said about us 

Your feedback and love of our property is our top priority. Take a look at what some of our past clients have had to say about their experiences 

IMG_7303
press to zoom
IMG_6885
press to zoom
IMG_7084
press to zoom
IMG_7067
press to zoom
IMG_7140
press to zoom
IMG_2617
press to zoom
IMG_5199
press to zoom
barn pic
press to zoom
HOT TUB
press to zoom
IMG_8452
press to zoom
1/1

TESTIMONIALS

The most amazing weekend of our lives so far

We had our wedding in early June 2022 at the Hideout and we can say without a doubt that it was the best decision we made in our planning process. We booked the venue sight unseen after looking at photographs as we had gotten engaged close by while climbing. We wanted to share the area and landscape with our family and friends and the HideOut did not dissapoint. The whole weekend was incredible for so many reasons, but by and large due to the hard work and kindness of the family that runs and owns the hideout. BJ, Tom and their son Josh are so communicative, helpful and just good people.

They were great in the planning process (we used most of their recommended vendors) and when we arrived could not feel more taken care of throughout the whole weekend. Josh helps to plan out all of the settings: table, chairs, ceremony when you arrive and then magically makes everything happen smoothly. BJ had planted flowers everywhere so that in addition to the tremendous wildflowers blooming between the rocks the ceremony and reception area is full of flowers.

Our whole family stayed in the lodge and saloon and it was so fun to make dinner with them on Thursday before everyone arrived and then have such an extraordinary place to get ready and spend time. Most of our friends camped on site and it was wonderful to be surrounded by friends and go hiking in the mountains and canoe on the lake the morning of our wedding. We had a field day the morning of our wedding and utilized the included coffee cart which was wonderful.
The barn was an incredible space and everyone was astounded by the venue. While we had to change some of our plans because it was quite cold, Josh made everything seamless and had bonfires going for our rehearsal, cocktail hour and reception. We danced in the barn and then everyone went up to the hot tub at midnight for an incredible night under the stars. We truly could not imagine a better place to celebrate our marriage.



-Caroline & Kyle Married 6-18-2022 

- Reviewed on Wedding Wire

Look No Further!

My husband and I knew after our first visit to The Hideout that this was the place we were to be married. Josh and his family went above and beyond for our entire wedding weekend. As if being there , ready, and prepared for anything wasn't enough...Josh even helped our family out to the highway after a very heavy snowstorm. Having the Hideout Crew around for your big day at The Hideout is just like having more extended family there and willing to help. Thanks for making our big day so special!



-Kaylin, Married on 10-23-2021

-The Hideout is such a special place and I feel so blessed to have had my wedding there. You rent the venue for 4 days, so you have time to truly enjoy your time there. I loved being able to spend the weekend with my loved ones rather than having it all over after one day! The venue is gorgeous and very well maintained. BJ and Josh were amazing and went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed for the weekend. I could not recommend The Hideout any more, if you have the opportunity to have your wedding there, do it!

-Megan & Chet 9-27-21

My (now) husband and I held our wedding at the HideOut in October of 2020.  We took advantage of the weekday package and couldn't be happier with our choice.  The venue is hands down the most gorgeous we had ever seen.  We spent a lot of time shopping around for a place to get married near Tahoe and this one takes the cake.  It blew us away when we visited in 2019 for the Open House.

The main lodge is exceptional, so much space and cozy, beautifully decorated rooms.  The deck is absolutely priceless and don't get us started on the 30 person jacuzzi! The saloon was also very nice and accommodated many of our guests.

The scenery is something out of a fairy tale. The reception hall/barn was huge, well lit, warm, and surpassed our wants and needs.  The Hoovers are exceptional people, Josh especially. He went above and beyond for us our entire stay and exceeded our expectations.  We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful, picturesque wedding.  I would recommend this venue to anyone who is looking to getting married in a beautiful, outdoor, secluded location.  

We love this venue more than words can describe. I would go back just to visit and relive some of the incredible memories we made there.  We truly could not have asked for more.  It was a dream come true.

-The Smiths 10-20-2020

My husband and I got married at the HideOut last week. What an incredible venue and even in the snow, it was exceptional. BJ, Tom, and Josh and everyone else at The HideOut worked so hard to make our wedding memorable and they did just that. We appreciate all the hard work and making it possible for us to get married at the HideOut with all our family and friends. 

– Clodagh C., San Francisco, CA 6/26/2019

In another lifetime I was a destination wedding photographer shooting locations from Northern California down through the Pacific Coast of Mexico.  Out of all the amazing places I’ve shot or have attended weddings at over the years the HideOut has to be at the very top.  Wow.  Imagine the incredible rugged beauty of the California Sierras with an amazing event venue built right in the middle of it all – in the middle of nowhere.  It’s the perfect stage to create your own personal mountain fairy tale.  

Did I mention the 20+ person hot tub carved out of the granite overlooking the small lake adjacent the main wedding party cabin?  …Just a small detail among many.

And the owners are super down to earth folks as well.

– Dan B., San Francisco, CA 3/19/2018

After discovering the HideOut on the Bachelor (I swear I was only watching because it was the Tahoe-themed episode!), my fiance and I immediately looked at each other and knew that was our dream spot. Nevertheless, I went on Yelp to see what others had said about the venue.
The common theme that emerged was “magical,” whether the review was from the bride, parents or guests. They’re totally right. It’s a magical setting and absolutely perfect for an outdoor/wilderness-themed wedding. Tom and BJ Hoover (along with their sons) are truly special people who are not only warm and opening, but genuinely want to make sure your wedding is as special as possible. Their property is breathtaking, and all their little customizations, along with a variety of activated, well-decorated spaces, make this an ideal venue for a wedding. I couldn’t recommend these guys enough. Trust the reviews, they’re not lying.
– Nellie D., San Diego, CA 9/17/2018

Just got back from our magical wedding weekend! I literally got chills coming over the hill to our special oasis. Our immediately family stayed in the main lodge, we had plenty of space to spread out and enjoy it all, some in the hot tub, some hiking to the swimming holes, shooting guns, and making memories for a lifetime.
I had the best weekend of my life. BJ/Tome/Dusty and the rest of the family were so helpful, hard working and made the weekend perfect. They are around to help when needed but give you space to enjoy the property. Hands down best venue out there to celebrate a marriage!! Thanks Hoover family for all your hard work and making our dream weekend reality.

– Alicia S. South Lake Tahoe, CA 7/17/2017

The HideOut is magical!! We got married there last month (July 2016) and couldn’t be happier.  We loved the HideOut so much, in fact, that we postponed our planned wedding date by almost a year so we could do it at the HideOut – SO worth it!!

It’s stunningly beautiful.  If you love the Sierras, like my husband and I, the HideOut is an amazing place (the best place? probably).  Our guests were all blown away, and so were we every time we visited.  Not only is the setting incredible (a bowl surrounded by granite by a lake), but what the Hoovers (the owners) have built is gorgeous as well…. I mean… you can jump off the porch into the lake! There is a huge hot tub built into the rock with a view! The lodge is built of beautiful, impossibly large tree trunks! It will take your breath away.  And I haven’t even started talking about the wildflowers blooming everywhere… the sunset light on the rocks… the stream-side hikes… the amazing kitchen…!

The Hoovers (the owners) are so kind and delightful to work with.  They were responsive and thoughtful in the planning process, and were extremely helpful and fun during the wedding weekend!  They were always able to answer questions and help out.  It is clear they are just very good people.

Look at the pictures, and head out and visit and chat with the Hoovers.  It will exceed your expectations!! I hope someone else I know gets married up there so I can go back soon.

– Alexandra G., San Francisco, CA 8/28/2016

Gosh, what can I say about The Hideout that hasn’t already been said? This was the most amazing wedding venue that my husband and I could have asked for. We saw it on their website and booked their last available wedding weekend for 2017 sight unseen! I managed to see the location under 20 feet of snow in February and I was still in love. When I got to see it in person for their open house in July, I was IN LOVE. If you like open air, pine trees, huge granite boulders, log cabins, and antique old world charm – this place is for you. Plus if you like having venue owners who really care about their clients and are on site for any issue during your stay – you’ll love The Hideout. Here’s just a few tidbits:

– 40 person granite hot tub
– stocked lake for fishing and canoeing
– 5 bedroom log cabin with individual bathrooms and fireplaces in every room
– Dine in kitchen
– Huge dining table
– Amazing bridal/master suite with great views
– Separate saloon with wifi
– Camping onsite with heated showers!

We definitely want to come back for our 10 year anniversary. Thanks Tom, BJ, Dusty, Josh & Isa!

– Ashley T., Santa Cruz, CA 10/13/2017

he place is perfect. We booked the Hideout for our wedding site unseen. We did not view the property until a month before the wedding. And everything was perfect.  Tom and BJ are great, they are there to help in any way possible and let you have the time of your life.  The day after the wedding Tom was gracious enough to take time out of his day and walk a group of us through the woods and show us the way to a nice little lake a short hike away. Their main rule don’t burn the place down. The landscape is perfect with the grass ceremony area, small meadow, grass reception area, old wooden wagon and dinner surrounded by trees.  Your guests can mingle and walk the grounds and soak up the scenery while you do photos.  After a night of dancing, relax the night away in the giant hot tub and take a midnight swim in the lake. The grounds are flat except for the drive in and the small walk up a hill to the lodge and saloon. Everything is accessible for the elderly and handicap.  Word of advice if you plan on bringing a trailer with a good amount of stuff ie beer wine all your rentals bring a truck with a big engine or pucker butt hill might take some additional man power to get your loaded down suv over the hill. Words can not describe this place enough, it is not a matter of if but when we will go back.

– Mill Valley, CA 10/6/2013